Honda Goldwing Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I'm so happy to have found this forum. I'm a retired airline pilot and 2 weeks out from my msc. I wake up nights dreaming of a Goldwing. It's the reason I''ve gotten into riding in the first place.

While the ink was still wet on my endorsement I bought a Honda Shadow 750. I plan to get to where I "own it" operationally (hopefully, a thousand miles or so). I then plan about a thousand miles or so on a Harley Fat Boy to help get me ready for a Goldwing.

My wife and I would wave down every Goldwing we see. I've loved them for years and have decided to go for it. As a pilot I understand the need to "work up to it." In the mean time I'm loving riding my Shadow every day here in Arizona.

I joined this forum to learn so, please, let me benefit from your experience and provide lots of advice and guidance. Am I on the right track? My first Goldwing will most likely be an 1800 with ABS.

·
Super Moderator
28,451 Posts
You are on target. Welcome from Pa. Enjoy.

·
Super Moderator
15,240 Posts
hello flightsong and welcome to GWOF. by the time you are done with the shadow there will be no need to get a fatboy unless you want one

·
Super Moderator
9,851 Posts
Welcome to the forum from Pa. Won't be long you will be working your way up to a Wing. Ride safe and enjoy the site...

·
Administrator
26,266 Posts
In complete agreement with what the good doc says. A Shadow to a Wing isn't like going from a Piper to a Boeing :D. Good idea to get some miles (hours?) logged on the Shadow first though.

·
Registered
30 Posts
Flightsong,
A friend of mine completed the course, then rented a Harley, decieded he and his wife wern't Harley types then bought a wing for his first bike. He's an excellent rider on that wing.