Honda Goldwing Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Happy rainy spring everybody!!! A very good friend contacted me about purchasing a used wing...I thought I would ask the forum for your advice!!! The ad reads, "1984 Honda Goldwing GL 1200 Aspercade...80,000 mi...Bike is in great shape. The chrome mufflers are in excellent condition, the paint is great, the tires are like new. New brakes, fork seals and battery. All elecrical doodads work. Complete maintenance records from previous owner. Looking for a smaller bike....$2,800...........

What pertinent questions should he ask the seller??!! Should he ever consider the bike!!??....Is $2,800 a fair price...Everyone's input would be appreciated...thank you:):):)

·
Registered
2,867 Posts
I am no expert on Goldwings, so I will let everyone else chime in. But I can tell you that I just baught a 1985 Aspencade in what I would say very good shape, and gave $2400 for it.I am in Minnesota.

·
Registered
123 Posts
Price is good - I'd ask two questions: Has the stator been replaced? Has the "three yellow wire" fix been done?
If the bike is in good shape and the electrical issues have been addressed, you're getting a bike that will go anywhere and run another 100,000 mile for $2800. Can't beat that deal.

·
Registered
2,835 Posts
Price is fair, ask if the stator been replaced, since this is the biggest problem with the 1200 Gold Wings. Offer $2500 and go from there.

·
Super Moderator
15,237 Posts
my 1200 wing is an '84 and i paid $2500 back in '07. the stator had been replaced

·
Super Moderator
15,237 Posts
And you will have many many great miles to go on it.
you are correct joe as i ride the 1500 wing way more than the 1200 wing. but the milage on both bikes is about the same 51,xxx on the 1200 wing and 55,xxx on the 1500 wing

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Thank You!!