Honda Goldwing Forum banner
1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Premium Member
4,328 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm planning a ride in Sept/October of this year that starts at my home in Northern VA (NOVA), meets at Lassen National Volcanic Park for a few days (family reunion) but is pretty open between those two points. I'm using the Furkot web based GPS planning software. This is in the beginning stages of planning so I'm open to any suggestions. I plan to stay in hotels (no camping) along the way. I currently have 400 mile days planned until I get a better idea on what sights I want to see going across the country. I do have Yellowstone and Rushmore plugged in right now. I like back roads but will do highways to make up time. I'm providing a link to my planning map. Please let me know your thoughts: https://trips.furkot.com/board/GaF2aj

I'm fairly new to the Furkot website but you'll see hotel stops along the way. Furkot plans stay overs based on how fast/far I project that I want to go daily. Right now that is 400 miles per day. I'm not far enough down the planning to actually start making any reservations.

Please give me any feedback on this thread and I'll be researching/planning for several months. Before leaving I'll load the route into the GPS on my bike and hope for the best. Of course I'll also have my computer along for the ride to download photos and update my maps. I will be going to Reno before Lassen to meet my wife at the airport. She doesn't want to make the cross country trip with me at this point.

Thanks

Steve

·
Administrator
29,002 Posts
That is a nice looking start to a trip Steve...........Of course you know I will be interjecting some info (surprise, surprise :redface:).

One question I have right of the bat. Are there specific sites that you like to visit or are you just basically covering ground to ride????

·
Premium Member
4,328 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·