Honda Goldwing Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Banned
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello! Just purchased my first goldwing yesterday and the only major problem is a bad left fork seal. I wanted to ask how I would go about disassemblin, replacing, and reassembling the forks on my own. I have basic knowledge of how to do so, but since my 84 aspencade has TRAC and air assist, I will need more knowledge of how to accomplish this. Thanks!

·
Premium Member
16,742 Posts
Might want to check Ebay for a shop manual.

Ooooh Yah, Welcome the GWOF. Nice bunch hangs out here.

·
Premium Member
24,643 Posts
You have to remove the forks to replace the seals afaik. Also means you probably have to remove the fairing. Then disasssemble the fork tubes and drain the oil. Once you have that done you can see if the springs and bushings are OK. If the springs are original I'd replace them with Progressives since you're already in there anyway. PM me if you need any pages out of the manual to assist you (if you don't have one already).
Yup, welcome along BTW:D

·
Registered
9,540 Posts
Welcome you are at the place to be and sorry I can be no help with the forks. I had the Honda do mlne.

·
Banned
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thanks everyone for the greetings! I can tell this is going to be a great experience.

I do not have a shop manual, but would not dare do anything until I have one. I'll go ahead and ask Boduka.

·
Super Moderator
15,160 Posts
Thanks everyone for the greetings! I can tell this is going to be a great experience.

I do not have a shop manual, but would not dare do anything until I have one. I'll go ahead and ask Boduka.
hello felicity true, welcome to GWOF. you are brave! second post and spelling the red barons name wrong, not good :D

·
Super Moderator
12,270 Posts
Hello and welcome to the forum.

·
Premium Member
7,999 Posts
Hi Felicity and welcome to the GWOF! Congratulations on your Classic Goldwing!