Honda Goldwing Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
What oil are you guys using for the heat? I am pretty sure the previous owner used only regular honda oil. If that works well I would like to continue.

·
Premium Member
1,405 Posts
Welcome Terry to GWOF.

I very common question and if you use the search tool at the top and type in "what oil', there will be material to keep you up for nights on end.

I think you are making the best choice until you decide differently in the future, if ever.
I use amsoil in all my vehicles. I am no expert in dino vs. synthetics, and have no dog in this fight. It will eventually come back as a question to you -what do you want and you have already expressed it.

The factors that made me go synthetic are:
1-I am very busy, this is easy for me to do once a year as all my vehicles get about 10 to 12k / year on them. I change all the filters in the spring and all the oil in all vehicles in October.
2-my bike is 16 years old and the number of times I have to tighten a steel bolt into an aluminum bike is a risk. The more I do it, the more I risk creating a "BIG' problem. (a pet peeve of mine and not intended to be transfered to you). I use a torque wrench but have had 1 fail me at work in the last 5 years. They are great tools and I use them regliously still today but I am now more careful and pay better attention now that it happened once.

You can't go wrong using HOnda oil. I am always impressed with Honda's engineering team that designed and executed a gl1500. I imagine that same quality is built into the newer models.

Happy reading. Unless you go outside common, proven and approved advise, you won't be wrong.

·
Super Moderator
9,852 Posts
Terry, you have now entered the "twilight zone" of motorcycle discussion. THE DISCUSSION OF WHICH OIL... You will be getting a lot of opinions.