Honda Goldwing Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I want a goldwing as my first bike some people say that this bike is to fast and big for my first bike need all the advise I can get.

·
Super Moderator
15,240 Posts
hello and welcome to GWOF coltrane. what year goldwing are you looking at. i wouldn't recomend a full dresser as anyones first bike

·
Registered
9 Posts
I seconde "buzzards" comment. I know that I'm very glad that I had used my 750 to gain experience on. I just got my wing but I am finding that it is a bit more tricky to operate at slow speeds as they are heavy bikes.

·
Registered
25 Posts
Fast is under your control, so I don't imagine that issue is the deal breaker. Weight and size are outside your control, so from that perspective it would help to get used to something smaller. I started riding about 3 years ago and started with a Sportster.

I'm certainly glad that I started out with something a little lighter before trying to manage a Goldwing. Whatever your choice, though, I highly recommend going to an MSF course first (if you have not already), ride carefully home, and once you get there find a parking lot nearby to practice turning and stopping. Basically get a feel for the motorcycle.

·
Registered
20 Posts
A few years ago I did some research on motorcycle deaths. You have about the same chance of dying on a bike as a car if you meet the following criteria:

Have ridden over 5 months
Don't speed
Don't drink and ride
Wear proper protective clothing and bright colors
Personally, I would also add "believe you are invisible".

So, take these things into consideration, and the habits of new riders: Over powered bikes mean more speeding, going to bars is pretty common, wearing black and no helmet, have not had time to adapt to invisibility, etc.