Honda Goldwing Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just bought a 2007 Goldwing with ABS and Navi. The bike had a few known issues when I bought it (ABS issue that was easily resolved) and an LCD display that was starting to depixalate. I found a replacement screen on Ebay from German Audio Tech out of Long Beach CA. I ordered the part with a lot of apprehension and with some instructive posts from this sight I was able to replace it and save over $1000 over ordering the factory gauge cluster (God knows if it's still available) . As a disclaimer I have to admit I have some experience with motorcycle repair, but I think it's fair to say that this repair can be done by anyone with some patience, basic hand tools and a steady enough hand to change a watch battery.

·
Registered
27 Posts
Does anyone have an idea what causes these screens to go bad? Knock on wood I have yet to have one go bad on my 1500s, or 1800s. I suspect it is too much time spent in direct sunlight.

·
Registered
2,598 Posts
Just a caution I picked up on another site - some of the displays being shipped from China are apparently a slight varaiation of the correct one for these bikes and installing them can cause a transistor to fry on the controller board. Here's a rather lengthy thread with info: LCD Screen Replacement - Now Blank

Thankfully when my brother and I changed ours we got the right ones and the whole procedure was uneventful.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Just a caution I picked up on another site - some of the displays being shipped from China are apparently a slight varaiation of the correct one for these bikes and installing them can cause a transistor to fry on the controller board. Here's a rather lengthy thread with info: LCD Screen Replacement - Now Blank

Thankfully when my brother and I changed ours we got the right ones and the whole procedure was uneventful.
Do you have a link to the correct LCD?

·