Honda Goldwing Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
buying used 2013 wing with abs with very low miles looking for pro and cons information on recalls etc. I have been riding v twins for last 15 years love the way the wing handles at highway speeds looking for sound advice I could purchase a left over 16 basic model for a few thousand more.

·
Premium Member
1,068 Posts
buying used 2013 wing with abs with very low miles looking for pro and cons information on recalls etc. I have been riding v twins for last 15 years love the way the wing handles at highway speeds looking for sound advice I could purchase a left over 16 basic model for a few thousand more.
Don't know of any recalls for the level 1-3 but there is a recall on the level 4 airbag model. It has the same make airbag as the cars.
Honda made changes to the transmission on the 14 - 17. The earlier years had issues with the shifting. I had an 06 with 220,000 miles on it and now have a 17 with 12,000 miles on it and think the 06 was better shifting than the 17. Seem to have more missed shifts on the 17 and neutral can be a pain to get into.

Asfar as other advice. A gl1800 that has been well maintained and not abused will out last many riders. It is not uncommon the hear ofgoldwings with 100s of thousands of miles on them still going strong.

My 2006 level3 had 220,000 miles on it when it was totaled and I had just finished an 8000 mile trip thru NE Canada on some very
bad roads. And I would have had no hesitation heading out on another trip after doing the normal maintenance.

·
Super Moderator
28,254 Posts
Welcome to the GWOF from another Pa. guy. Sage advice giving by my fellow Keystoner. I am quite certain if eddie's bike had not been totaled he would still be adding the miles on it.

I will leave you with this.......I subscribe to a theory that the right motorcycle will sing the "Ride Me" song to you if you listen closely. Best of luck in the decision process.