Honda Goldwing Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Has anyone else installed a standard garage remote control and useed the passenger PTT connection so the push to talk switch on the left handle bar actuates the remote (opens the garage door)? I am installing on my 06 this weekend. Just curious if there were any issues I should watch out for. did you hot wire the power as well? i think I will just leave the battery in they last a long time anyway.

·
Premium Member
23,760 Posts
dan: there is another fellow here " BS " , for short, who is working on a remote that wires into his high beam circuit. I'm a garage mechanic but a newbie to the Goldwing so I can't help him on the bike end. Reading your description below: You are integrating a "standard " hand held garage door opener on your Wing and using the PTT lever to actuate the remote? Could you please elaborate on this ? Is this your own idea or a product to install ? Alot of folk here who are lucky enough to have garages I'm sure would be interested. Here is the link to the product " BS " is working with: http://www.chromeworld.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=catalog.prodInfo&productID=6649&categoryID=2594

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #3 (Edited)
BS is using the "Flash to Pass' it is a very good unit very simple to install but expensive. By the way the instructions on their website are very simple. You just clip into the high beam hot wire and a ground.