Honda Goldwing Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
60 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all, I rode my bike to work yesterday and on the way home, while climbing a hill, my bike just didn't have the throttle response it should have. I think I need to replace the fuel filter and probably new plugs too. Can someone walk me through the fuel filter replacement, since I've never done one before? What do i need to remove to get to it? And, is there a trick to getting it out of its holder? It seems like it sits in there very tightly. Sorry for the noob questions, but I'd really like to get my bike running right, and save some money by doing this work myself. I work nights, so I'm out the door soon. I'll check in here when I get home in the morning. Thanks all in advance, you have always been helpful in the past. Ride safe all.

·
Super Moderator
7,639 Posts
The fuel filter is to the right when you open the gas door.
You remove the seat and the top shelter, loosen the clamps on both ends and replace.
Have rags present when doing the process to absorb spilled fuel.

·
Premium Member
17,042 Posts
Hope this helps you out.
1. remove the seat (remove the four bolts in the passenger hand grips.
2. remover the two acorn nuts at the back end of the radio panel that were covered by the front of the seat.
3. remove the right and left fairing pockets.
4. Remove the plastic gussets that are attached to the radio panel that are around the fork tunnel.
5. Open the gas door, in side at the sides on each side is a plastic lever swing it forward.
Note if you have a nice big soft towel get it handy.
Now lift the radio panel off, place the towel between the radio and the plastic of the left side and left it hang there. Or you can disconnect all the plugs and remove it completely.
6. Now you can replace the filter.