Honda Goldwing Forum banner
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Premium Member
7,509 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Changing out fuel filter and had found a previous thread with recommended OReilly part WIX 33003. Bought part however it is much larger than OEM. Is this the correct part? Doesn't look like it will fit in the same space.

·
Super Moderator
12,270 Posts
As Eric says, use a hammer! :D

(Just kidding. :eek:)

·
Premium Member
5,355 Posts
DanB,
If I remember right other than OEM you have to take the rubber out to fit another filter.

·
Premium Member
7,509 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Changed out fuel filter however no change in performance as it still bogs down at 2800 rpm and won't get over 60 mph. Doc said I should drain crank case breather tubes which I will do in a bit. Cantankerous said to check vacuum lines which appears to be a major task to access. I'm not a skilled mechanic but will try a few things if anyone can coach me thru it. I will say I've also added a can of seafoam and changed fuel to non-ethanol.

·
Super Moderator
12,270 Posts
Have you changed the air filter, or at least looked at it?

I know it's a PITA to get to, but it might be plugged up, possibly with critters.

·
Premium Member
7,509 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Have you changed the air filter, or at least looked at it?

I know it's a PITA to get to, but it might be plugged up, possibly with critters.
Haven't changed however had carbs rebuilt a year ago and mechanic said then it looked good as previous owner changed at 25k and now has 32k. Maybe things changed with that in the last 7k.

·
Super Moderator
12,270 Posts
Did this problem happen suddenly, or was gradual?

·
Super Moderator
12,270 Posts
Well that should eliminate the filters. When it 'bogs down' have you tried operating the choke to see if it changes?

·
Premium Member
7,509 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
Well that should eliminate the filters. When it 'bogs down' have you tried operating the choke to see if it changes?