Honda Goldwing Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi I'm new to the form. Looking at getting a 2010 Gold Wing in the next few days. I was wondering, how many miles can I go before my first oil change, and if i do the oil change myself will it void the warranty? Also after that when should I go in for my next service? Any help in this matter sure would be helpful.
Thanks again
Ray
Jacksonville, Fla

·
Registered
87 Posts
I can't wait to hear the responses too...
I just purchased my first GoldWing too.
Welcome to the forum from NE PA

·
Super Moderator
9,857 Posts
First, welcome to the forum from the Keystone state. First oil change (according to the mfg.) is due at 4k and every 8k after that. Changing the oil yourself will not void the warranty. Save the reciept for the oil and filter.

Many owners change the oil more frequently and you are going to get a lot of different opinions on frequency and type of oil. My thoughts are if Honda says you can go 8k on regular dino oil, then anything up to that is fine for the engine. Not many engine problems with the Goldwing.

·
Premium Member
233 Posts
wrmjax welcome to the site. I changed my oil at 4000 miles myself and like two wheel wing I kept my reciept for everything in a folder in-case I have a problem in the future. For what they charge to do a service I just got a tech manual and went to work. :)

·
Administrator
26,270 Posts
Welcome wrmjax. There's other ways to do it posted in threads here, but the pages in the back of the owners manual makes a good maintenance diary. Record the date, mileage and service performed and if nothing else, then you know what is done and when. Highly recommend the Honda shop manual too.

·
Registered
2,835 Posts