Honda Goldwing Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am buying a new Goldwing and am hearing different opinions on the first service. Some say 500-1000 miles and Honda is telling me 4000 miles. I am picking my bike up in the Midwest and driving it nearly 2000 miles home and am deciding if I need to find a dealer on my route home for a service. It is much more convient to wait until I get home, but I don't want any problems for my new bike. Any thoughts?

·
Premium Member
5,390 Posts
Welcome to GWOF from Maryland
I don't no about other goldwings but my 2010, 1800 first service was at 4000 miles , the dealer and the manual both said 4000

·
Premium Member
128 Posts
6500km/4000mile first service 12500km or 7700miles after that

·
Registered
13 Posts
I'm no expert but I wouldn't worry about it. The book says 4000 so the Honda engineers think that's fine. I would take it easy for the first 300 mi as the book says and avoid full throttle starts. I think this is as much about tires and brakes as it is engine. I would keep an eye on oil level and tire pressure, and avoid running at a constant speed for awhile. I kept mine between 2k and 3k rpm for about the first 500 miles but that's just what it felt like the bike wanted to do. I don't think it would hurt to run it faster if that's what you need to do.

·
Super Moderator
28,436 Posts
Skippy as the other guys have alluded this seems to be a bit of a ploy on the part of some dealers to earn some extra money (I would bet the dealer wants to charge you for it).

Like the other guys said follow Honda's lead & you will be just fine. Obviously you have certain obligations in that matter as well though. IE: Checking oil, final drive, coolant & tire pressure to name a few.

Ride Safe.

·
Administrator
26,270 Posts