Honda Goldwing Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Had my first big scare since I started riding again three weeks ago. Tonight I was going for a ride around the local area. First night in about two weeks that the temp has come down to something real enjoyable - 70 degrees. I was riding some back roads around Anaheim Hills and then got on the freeway. I had only been on for about 2 mins, going about 70 when I almost hit a large piece of big-rig trucker tire tread that had detached. It was black the same shade as the pavement and I did not see it until I was on top of it. It stood up on end about 15 inches. Missed it by millimeters, my right peg scraped it. It was a whole tire length bunched up. I can only imagine what would have happened it I had hit it dead on. Took awhile to calm down. At first I just wanted to head on home but I continued riding for about another hour reminding myself why I was on the bike. Thanks for reading.

·
Super Moderator
11,816 Posts
Glad you missed it. I know how nerve wracking close calls can be.

·
Premium Member
23,775 Posts
A special good morning to you, gary. Those " close calls " are little gifts we are given from time to time as a reminder of just how exhilarating riding a motorcycle can be.

·
Premium Member
5,390 Posts
I was right behind a truck one day when his tire exploded , I missed it by 2 feet but to see it develope in front of you was scary , glad you missed it also

·
Administrator
26,266 Posts
One of the tactics m/c instructors teach about being unable to avoid an obstacle: shift your weight to the rear, hit the throttle hard and pull up on the bars. It's an old off-road technique and it does work, don't ask how I know.:eek: but it was call dunnage.

·
Registered
515 Posts