Honda Goldwing Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, GW Newbie here needs help.
How do i access my 2010 Goldwing's ; oil drain plug, oil filter & filler hole ?
Essentially i would like to perform the first 600miles oil change. I just don't know
how to remove those panels/cover. Thanks !

jdgw_wannabe
IBA # 38829

·
Premium Member
23,772 Posts
Nothing wrong with premature oil changes but it is not recommended for 4,000 miles, in spite of what the dealership may have told you. The " oil drain " plug is underneath the bike's engine where one would expect a drain plug to be ( it's the only bolt head protruding from the belly of the engine ).Oil filter : From the front center of the engine, behind the front fender, lay on your side and look up and behind the lower cowl. It's the only black forward protruding mass that looks like a filter. The ' fill " plug is located behind the right lower chrome cover ( throttle side of the bike ) above the brake pedal. To access, feel under the lowest point for a fingertip access point and gently tug outwards. There is a dough nut hole grommet at 9 o'clock and a post tab at the valve cover end at 3 o'clock. Work the 9 o'clock out first and then wiggle the cover back to remove it from the 3 o'clock tab. The first time is always the toughest because it is new.

·
Registered
2,835 Posts
If your changing the oil at 600 miles, which is a good thing, also change the final drive fluid.

·
Premium Member
89 Posts
Oil changing

If your changing the oil at 600 miles, which is a good thing, also change the final drive fluid.
I'm also a great believer in early/frequent oil changes. I have done oil + filter & final drive at 1000 km. Will do the same at about 5,000 and will then settle down to the scheduled changes. Oil is cheap insurance. :)

·
Registered
15 Posts