Honda Goldwing Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Howdy folks,
I'm not a mechanic (at all) but bought a 78 GL1000 and am having trouble to make it work. On another post I shared my struglle to make it start and had some help and I figured out solenoid was the issue, fixed it and took it for a short ride. Put back on garage and went for a ride next day... but no love. Retraced my steps reinstalling solenoid, cleaning up terminals and when instaling battery the negative sparks and try to fire up engine. Now I'm going for hit and miss attempts checking connections, terminals, rusted points, loose cables and still it cause sparks and try to start motor. The weird thing is that no key is on ignition so my thought is that there is some current bypassing the proper connections.

First thing I would like to know from you guys is: should I force plug battery in or is there any risk of causing further damage?
Second thing is what may cause this sort of short? I checked cables from ignition switch to solenoid, battery, ground and they are all looking in place.

I would really appreciate your support here. With all this craziness the very few shops here in Buffalo, NY are either closed or only doing simple mechanical fixes which means I need to figure out by myself if I want to ride anytime soon.
Any adivce is very much appreciated.

Hope you guys are all safe at home and only leaving the house for groceries and nice rides!

(p.s.: sorry for new discussion, couldn't fine anything specific about it)

·
Super Moderator
11,889 Posts
It sounds like the solenoid is stuck. Try disconnecting the small wires to it and see if the engine still turns over.

·
Premium Member
3,815 Posts
Check to make sure the starter button on the handlebar isn't somehow stuck in or making contact. That could also be the problem.

·
Super Moderator
28,448 Posts