Honda Goldwing Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Banned
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I started out on a Goldwing GL 1800 as my first bike. I had taken the motorcycle safety course before buying my bike. I started riding it slow around neighboorhood streets in the early morning when there was no traffic. I then started riding on heavily traveled main streets and hiways in the early morning when there was light traffic. I dont speed and am a very conservative rider and have not had any problems. I thought you could start out on any bike because you have to get the feel of it. If you can already ride a motorcycle and pass the motorcycle safety course why is it better to start out on a small light motorcycle as your first bike purchase?

·
Registered
4 Posts
I think as long as your are a sensible person you could start on a Hayabusa but probably not a boss Hoss. I had a rear tire blow on a V8 Kannon once, that was exciting. I did not go down but I finished up in the ditch on the other side of the road and I was 2 up.
Point being, experience played a role in the outcome I'm sure. Only thing that happened to me was temporary hearing loss due to the screams coming from the passenger.:eek:

·
Registered
44 Posts
I did my safety course and got my motorcycle license on a GL1100 which I purchased before being licensed back in '89. I figured if I couldn't get the course and the license on the bike of my choice, why the heck get it. I tell you, I sure felt comfortable knowing that it worked out from the start.

·
Registered
47 Posts
Bravo!

...If you can already ride a motorcycle and pass the motorcycle safety course why is it better to start out on a small light motorcycle as your first bike purchase?
Just keep riding defensively and conservatively and you'll be fine.