Honda Goldwing Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
76 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
The reason I'm asking this question is that I have always rode sport bikes with your helmet in the clear. I'm new on my wing and as it is I'm looking over it on the lowest setting by about 2'' or 3''. The wind sometimes makes helmet noise as I wear a full face helmet. If I take the visor off it's quite. I have considered a tall shield but am not sure if looking through it would distort my view. My bike is a 86 GL1200 so I'm not sure if the models change things ether. Thanks. earthpig....

·
Premium Member
356 Posts
Good question as I have nearly posted the exact same inquiry recently. I am new to the wing and in the past I too have looked over my windscreen. I had a sport screen on a Beemer and kinda enjoyed the wind pressure. Time changes things and now I ride my wing, I have a full face helmet, and with the screen in the lowest position I am looking just over the screen if I sit rather upright and look thru the very top of it if I slouch a bit. I am still experimenting, I have just passed the 950 mile mark, and I have raised the windscreen little by little until now I am looking thru the screen at all times. As of now I prefer this and for me distortion is not a factor. NOTE... I have not ridden in rain nor have I ridden at night.

Curious to see other responses.

·
Registered
76 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Hey DonaldLL. Thanks for the input. I have about 3000 miles on it and have moved it to the up setting but it's a standard shield and I'm Looking right at the transition point. Would hate to buy a tall shield and not like it. I'm all ears :D

·
Registered
141 Posts
With my 3/4 helmet and no face shield, I want to look through the windshield in all weather, but near the top so I can raise up a bit and look over it in case it fogs or gets too wet in rain. It needs to stop the bugs and gravel before my face does.

·
Premium Member
356 Posts