Honda Goldwing Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just posted an intro and mentioned the GL1100 I just bought had been sitting for about 2 1/2 years with the spark plugs removed. Does the engine block have any kind of steel or cast iron sleeves, either pressed in or cast in place, that would have rusted? I'm a Gold Wing newbie and wonder what condition the cylinder bores might be in, other than a few dead bugs and spider webs:) I haven't had time to try to look into the cylinders through the spark plug hoes, and probably won't be able to see much anyway without some sort of lighted probe/scope. I plan to use some Marvel Mystery Oil to soak the cylinders before trying to crank it anyway. Any info would be appreciated. Thanks, in advance.

Lynn

·
Super Moderator
15,240 Posts
yes it does have a liner

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I expected that they did. I'll see what condition they're in and probably look for a different engine rather than go the rebuild route if they're pitted. I appreciate the response.

Lynn

·
Registered
65 Posts
Lake,
Don't fret the pitting just yet! I am currently employed as anengine builder/machinest. Granted, you would rather not have "pits" but they are not the real problem. It is high spots that are the problem. guess what, the rings will knock down the high spots. Before my GW I had a 750 that had not been run in over 10 years. The plugs were in, but the cylinder bores were HEAVILY pitted. (will explain later how I know that). When I first got the bike running, it smoked quite a bit, and used a lot of oil. For the first 5000 miles or so, I had to check the oil every couple of days. Then it gradually got better and better. Finally, it got to the point that it burned almost no oil at all.