Honda Goldwing Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Banned
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I’m looking for a tour bike, my choice has come down to the Wing or K1600. I’m looking for a long term purchase, 7 to 10 years, 150K+ plus miles over the years. My background is dualsport and sportbikes, have been riding for 25 years. What are the advantages of 2012 wing, and what are the disadvantages of the wing? What are the problems to look out for? How is the CB, what is the typical range, most of the H-D guys I know complain about their CB.

Any words of wisdom about the wing are welcome. Planning to purchase by end of October.

·
Super Moderator
15,167 Posts
hello markk9, welcometoGWOF. the '12 wing owners will have to provide answers your questions

·
Super Moderator
7,611 Posts
Hello and welcome to the forum.
There are some members here with 2012 who can share their knowledge of the latest Wing.
I have a GL1500 and can tell you that it is a wonderful bike.

·
Registered
473 Posts
First off, welcome to the forum, you'll find a wealth of information here. I'm a 2012 rider, it is my first 1800, had it since July '11 and have 21K on the odo. I ride both 1 and 2 up and will pull a trailer. Have no experiece with dual sport or sportbike, been rinding wings for the past 20 yrs, starting with GL1000, I've had all but the 1100.

A first question might be how do you plan to ride? If by yourself, the BMW might be a good option, lots of tech on the bike but I hear not very passenger friendly. Another consideration on the BMW I hear is maintenance cost and dealer network.