Honda Goldwing Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all, I have been wanting to get a bike for awhile, I haven't owned a bike since I was 19 (40 now)

Anyway, I have a friend who is selling a 1985 Goldwing for $2500, plus he will take payments (since I'm broke)

The bike has 32,000 miles on it, and was ridden up until this winter and has been winterized, he took care of it.

I Am afraid I am a complete noob and don't know if this is a good deal or not. Or if there are some challenges buying a bike this old.

The other problem is the bike is Colorado, and I live in Ohio (both of us are truck drivers) , so I have not seen it and have to rely on his word

I am going to have him send me pictures of it from all angles, and send me a video of it going through the gears.

Is there anything else I need to know?

Thanks

·
Registered
2,835 Posts
You have to realize it's 26 years old, if anything goes wrong you might have trouble finding parts for it, and there are a lot of rubber seals and gaskets on it. It he has rode it a lot and it hasn't sat for a long time it might be O.K.. Ask him if the stator (not starter) has been replaced. The 1200's had bad stators and the motor has to be pulled to replace it.

·
Registered
33 Posts
You need to get you a class on riding first. Although you have ridden before, you need to take a class for safety sake. You need to find out about the condition and age of the tires. If thry are old or been outside too long. Then they would need to be replaced.

·
Registered
21 Posts
If you have not ridding in that long, I would suggest the safety class and I would also recommend a smaller bike for a year, before going to a wing.

Good luck and be safe, whatever you decide.

·
Registered
150 Posts
Hi & welcome Goldwingnoob