Honda Goldwing Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Premium Member
3,596 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have very little experience with a CB other than on the Wing. My understanding of squelch is that its a filter. If I'm riding alone, set the squelch on a low number to get maximum range and coverage. But if I'm riding with a group and only want to hear the transmissions within say 500 yards, then I should go to a higher squelch level to filter out all the others. Is this correct?

Another rider is telling me I'll get the best reception if my squelch is at the same level as his. I thought my squelch setting only affected what I hear, not what I send. That is my squelch setting would have no effect on how well someone else hears me. Nor would his setting have an effect on how well I hear him. Whose right?

·
Registered
68 Posts
Your understanding is right on. I would characterize the squelch more as a spring loaded gate than a filter, only allowing signals with enough strength to come through.
His squelch has nothing to do with your reception, and vice versa.
Correct, if you want to hear more, lower the squelch. For maximum reception without background noise, raise the squelch until the noise doesn't break it, and stop.

=Dave=
Old Dog Moto works

·
Administrator
15,283 Posts
Just adding my support for Dave's answer. It's just a filter that cuts out some of the noise which is mostly weak signals.

·
Premium Member
333 Posts
Randy,
Your thoughts on the squelch control are correct. Your settings affect what you hear and have nothing to do with your transmission, it is predetermined by your internal radio capabilities, SWR number and by the federal government.