Honda Goldwing Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok, im a newbie at tryign to repair anything on my 84 GL1200 I. a while back i was driving it home from work and it just started to die on me. it acted liek it was fuel starved and got to the point where it wouldnt run at all. I woudl throttle down on it and it wouldnt even start. I could start it with the choke all the way on but then it woudl die if i tried the throttle. A friend told me to take the carbs off and just clean them. so i did that and put htme back on. Well now the bike will start but it wont stay running unless its fully throttled and the choke doesnt help either... should i just get Raddiks rebuild kit and just redo the whole carbs and then go from there? im wondering if i just got the carbs so out of sync they wont stay running. I know it needs to be synced but if i cant keep it running i dont want to waste my time taking it to someone to have them synced if i just have to rebuild them and do other work to the bike. Any ideas on what i can do? im just so fustrated. i live in the middle of nowhere and i have onbody close to even help me. Ill have to take it 100 miles to the closest shop just to do the sync on the bike. Thanks for any and all ideas and help.

·
Registered
835 Posts
Fuel Pump -

Hey Mike, Slow down just a bit… Check some of the simpler things first before you have the engine pulled out for a crankshaft replacement. :) First make sure your problem is not just a fuel filter, an obstruction within the fuel tank shut-off valve, a clogged fuel pickup down inside the fuel tank (contamination sometimes accumulates in the older tanks) or the fuel pump itself.