Honda Goldwing Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
81 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to Goldwing. Is there a constant drain on the battery even when the key is off & out??

·
Super Moderator
7,660 Posts
Caveman,
Greetings from Florida and welcome to the forum.
Yes, there are things on your Wing that remain on even with the key off.

·
Super Moderator
9,843 Posts
All of the electronics (ECM, radio, clock, etc) are all maintained by the battery, so yes there is a drain on it. I use a battery tender plugged into it everytime the bike sits. Keeps the battery topped off and ready to go..

·
Registered
2,835 Posts
I use a battery tender also, but the drain is very minor, probably take a couple of months before you even notice it.

·
Registered
449 Posts
Battery tender here also. Keeps batteries from sulfating due to being in a discharged state. Really extends the life of any battery they are hooked up to.

·
Registered
217 Posts
Call your dealer...they should be able to tell you what the normal off state current draw is for the bike....once you have that number multiply it by 1.5...if the draw on your bike is greater that...you might have an electrical component that is starting to fail....which component...that will be a plug and play type search....try pulling fuses and see if that circuit cause the increase in amps...

Hope this helps...

Safe Ride...

·
Registered
217 Posts
:p I must be the luckiest son-of-a-b???? who has owned a motorcyle....I agree with everyone about a battery tender...but in the 20+ years of riding I have never owned a battery tender and my batteries typically last 6 years...I charge them in the fall...let them sit in my basement during the winter and charge them in the spring...start the bike and ride....:cool:

I could not resist..telling you guys this.....

However...I do have a battery tender on my christmas list....I knew this forum was going to cost me money....;)

Safe Ride...

·
Registered
793 Posts