Honda Goldwing Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Banned
2 Posts
I have been riding for 30 years(currently own an FJR andVTX1800C) and have had a few Hondas in the past which I have thoroughly enjoyed. At this point, I am looking to purchase another bike, not necessarily a Honda, to last me a few years as the others have done. Part of my challenge is that I am 6'5" and need to find a multi-purpose bike that I can comfortably fit on for long periods of time.

OK, let's cut the - trying to decide between a '12 Wing and BMW GTL. I don't ride two-up that often but it would be nice for my wife to have some creature comforts when we do - she has her own bike BTW for most rides. I don't come from a sport-bike riding mentality (wish I had the kahonnas for that!) but still appreciate the bike's capability for it should I want it from time-to-time.

Here is where it gets testy and pisses me off. The BMW dealership has been great in letting me test ride the GTL whereas the Honda dealerships have given me the following options in regards to a Wing:

1) buy it, test ride it for 20 miles. You don't like it, bring it back.

2) buy it, test ride it for 10 miles. You don't like it, bring it back.

It almost seems like an arrogance of sorts based on the reputation of the bike. The other part of me says now that there is serious competiton from BMW, maybe they don't want you to have a fair evaluation.

As I stated in my initial response, I have been a Honda supporter (bikes,pressure washers,mowers) for many years so don't think I am trying to stoke the fire. I just don't understand why Honda is so inflexible in the ability to test-ride the bike. I will sign any paper absolving them of all fault. At this point, it's almost as if Honda/the dealerships are forcing my hand into the competition!!!!

Give me your thoughts as I will be making a decision in the very near future

THANKS!!!;)

·
Premium Member
7,120 Posts