Honda Goldwing Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Premium Member
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just bought an '05 Wing that does not have ABS. The general consensus (from recent reading) seems to be that ABS is a necessary safety feature on the Wing. I am a big fan of ABS and have had it on many of my previous bikes - but to date it has provided more "peace of mind" than actual protection. Nonetheless, I find that I am paranoid about not having the extra safety net. A half ton of steel on wet/slippery roads can push out real quick in a panic situation. I'm just wondering if I am being overly paranoid or if someone has really had an "incident" that seems to be the result of their brakes locking up. FWIW, I've been riding for about 20 years - so I'm not new to 2 wheeled transport.

·
Premium Member
23,775 Posts
You not paranoid. Your just envisioning scenarios. When the thought of the possible becomes fear of the probable, stop riding.

·
Premium Member
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
You not paranoid. Your just envisioning scenarios. When the thought of the possible becomes fear of the probable, stop riding.
I guess the thread is designed to prevent the thought of the possible from becoming the fear of the probable by sifting through the anecdotal insight and supplanting it with actual experience.

·
Premium Member
23,775 Posts
10-4 Adventure. Never had the big one. Skilled, lucky, or blessed , I won't know until one or all of the three give out.

·
Registered
449 Posts
Like the song says....Don't worry, be happy.
You can worry yourself to death over should I, could I, things or just trust in your skill or seek more skill through additional rider education.
Enjoy yourself, you have the safest ride on the market even without abs.

·
Registered
105 Posts