Honda Goldwing Forum banner
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello.

I've been out of the 2-wheel life for more than 20 years. My wife and I agreed that I would stay in 4-wheeled vehicles until our children were grown and out on their own.

That milestone is about to be reached...

I really want to get back on the road, and at my stage in life a Gold Wing looks like the way to go.

So... I think I am actually going to do this... get a bike and get back out on the road.

I am a newb in that I have been out of the market for a long, long time. I have so many questions... but here are a few to kick off my research. If anyone has any quick replies, or can point me in the right direction, I would be very much grateful. I am sure I need to ask a ton more questions... so I'm open to general advice as well.

* Bikes now have stereos and other electronic communication equipment. Plus, I see people chatting with their passenger with helmet mic's. Are these folks using after-market accessories they retro-fit into helmets, or are helmets now made with comm equipment built-in? I did not find anything on the Honda site discussing how to actually listen to the stereo or communicate with the Nav System (if one should go with that option). How can I learn more about these systems and the latest helmets?

* Where can I look to see the latest safety equipment (helmets, boots, jacket, etc)? Even though the kids are grown, my wife still wants me around for a while ;-)

* I am targeting the fall for my purchase, so I have 2-3 months to research and talk to people on the roads (I've already made a few contacts). In addition to these forums, what should I be reading? Where should I go?

Thanks.

Steve

·
Premium Member
582 Posts
First off welcome to the forum......you are doing the right thing by doing research.