Honda Goldwing Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a newbie to the forum and i have a new to me 87 GL 1200I. i got it a few days ago and the first day i had it i started it at least 8 or 10 times as we had many stops on the way home. It never gave me an issue.
well the next day i got up for work and it started fine and i drove it to work with one stop along the way there as well. got to work and parked the bike. I go to get on it to go home and the battery is at 9V and wont start. I pull the pattery out and go buy a new one as i didnt knwo how long the old battery had really been in the bike.
Got to work this morning with a fully charged new battery and put it in and the bike started fine and i let it run for a while to just warm it up. This afternoon i go out to check the voltage and the battery says 12.69V and so i start it up and its running. I check the voltage and it says 12.11V so i rev the engine and hold it at 3500RPM. the voltage goes up to 12.22V but no higher. this seems low to me. shoudl it not be a lot higher to charge the battery. while revvign at that rPM it never dropped below the 12.22V. Any ideas on what to start checking? I dont have an manuals or anything yet as i just got the bike. I could sure use some direcvtions to look before i try to take the bike on any kind of long trip like i have planned for next weekend. I dont want to get stranded.... Thanks for any help you fellow GL riders can give.

·
Super Moderator
15,240 Posts
hello mike, you can start by checking the stator and voltage regulator

·
Super Moderator
11,816 Posts
The is a plug to the left of the battery that has three yellow wires in it. Check the condition of the plug, if it isn't burned up, check the voltage between the wires. Each test should yield the same voltage.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #5