Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Banned
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All,
I'm Ben and new to the forum as well as a new (used) 85 GL 1200 Interstate. My first ever Wing and man I love it!! And to boot a pretty clean bike at 25 years of age, 53,000 miles. I want this project done by March and ready for the summer. I'll be pulling most all of the aftermarket stuff as I'd like to make the bike as much original as possible EXCEPT for my charging system it'snot putting any voltage at all at any rpm. I was by trade a mechanic for ford for around 30 years, so I know wrenches and tools, a big plus in my mind here.

The motor on the bike looks pretty easy to pull with the sub=frame Honda offered on this model, should I decide to go back with a new stator but from what I'm hearing and reading these stators seem to go out a lot in 84-87 models. So I'm thinking of going ahead with the mods needed and do the "Alt. Conversion Kit". These conversions I think look pretty cool and down the road should it go bad, it would be a much easier fix. I have acess to a welder, all tools needed (Pretty sure) and I live in a very small town with lots of auto salvage yards for parts like small brackets and the Alt.

So what my question is, does anyone know the cost of the kits offered on the net?
And what do you think? which way would you go? Either way will be done cleanly and with much care.

I'm looking forward to someone saying, Nice Bike! and be able to say thank you, that bike's 25 years old!!:D

Thanks everyone and Happy NEW YEAR!!!!

Ben

·
Registered
166 Posts
There is a lot of info on web on this subject. There was a posting here, I think in the last week. Google it, I think it was something like "Poor ' ? ' Alternator". Maybe some here will help out, can't remember exact name.

·
Super Moderator
15,003 Posts
don will reply to your email, just give him a chance. when i emailed him he replied back in a day or two

·
Registered
32 Posts