Honda Goldwing Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am curently in the process of buying a 1983 honda goldwing GL1100, from a guy that loved it and is too old to fix it. I am purching it for $500.00 and the guy said he loved it and never had any problems untill he road it almost 9 years ago and heard a pop or boom sound. Than he parked it out side covered for most of the 9 years.so i guess what im asking is dose any one think that the motor is shot, or the timing went, or something? I am new to motorcycles and dont know much about them but it is a great looking bike and has low miles for its age(34,000) and i would like to restore it and get it road worthy so i can enjoy riding! If u need to know anything else let me know! Thanks for any help!

P.S. Could it possibly be something as symple as the carbs needing to be sync'd?

·
Banned
3,192 Posts

Welcome from Seattle.

You are new to motorcycling. New to Goldwings. There is a slim chance to none that you will ever get this bike road worthy. It has been sitting for 9 years after a motor problem. Even if it ran well when parked it is going to cost over a $1000 in parts and labor to get it to run and be road safe. That is if nothing wrong on the inside of the motor.

A better bet would be to save some more money and buy one that runs....and that has had recent maintenance work done.

Good luck with your motorcycling adventures!

Larry

·
Premium Member
1,404 Posts
There are a lot more questions to be asked here.
Larry is right to ask about your history to get a glimpse of your abilities. If you plan to have the work done, it will cost way too much and the cost will go way beyond it's worth. Even parts cost will easily escalate to more than one you could just get on and ride.

Also, a pop sound isn't enough info. Was it an electrical pop or did grey smoke come out the pipes?