Honda Goldwing Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone! I'm new to Goldwings, so any feedback would be helpful and very much appreciated.

1. Diagnosis:

After acquiring my '78 Goldwing, I took it for a ride and shifting gears was smooth and normal. The next day while doing a little practicing in a parking lot, my experience was this -
Putting the bike in gear from a stop was no problem, but my transition off the clutch while in gear was much harder than the day before. I notice this happening for about 10 minutes, until at one point (while in gear, moving, and letting off the clutch) the bike dropped out of gear and went into a "neutral" type state. At a stop now, the bike would not drop back into gear, but would roll freely as if was in neutral, whether the clutch lever was pulled in or not. I tried adjusting the freeplay on the clutch and I tried rolling the bike into gear, but nothing has seemed to work. From what i've read and heard from knowledgeable people, I'm pretty sure my clutch is burnt out, but if anyone has any other possibilities or specific details of what could be happening, I would really appreciate it!

2. Fixing it:

With leaning toward this problem being a burnt out clutch, I, along with some very mechanic savvy friends are going to try and fix the bike ourselves. I'm looking for suggestions on:

1. Video or written tutorials (step by steps guide would be ideal)
2. Tools I'll need
3.Most importantly, will I need to remove the engine?

*Note: - I have a clymer manual

Thanks for taking the time to reading this and thanks in advance for any advice you might have.

Attachments

·
Premium Member
8,241 Posts
Welcome to the GWOF from Minnesota!:)

Goldwing clutches are notoriously tough. I always expect any clutch problem to be external to the clutch itself and so far it has always been.