Honda Goldwing Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
190 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Entering routes into that Nav unit sucks hairy swollen veiny purple headed moose <put whatever your want here> !!!

http://g.co/maps/nkrtx

Putting a route like this one in there is a nightmare !!! Im going to have to find a way to do cities or zip codes or something cause this surely wont work. I think Im going to buy a base for my Ram mount I had on the VTX that fits the Wing and mount my Garmin 1450LMT until I learn to get around the arrow buttons .. or the extensive use of same. (or get used to the SD card.)

Yuk Honda !!!

Im a Network Engineer by trade. When I get on the bike, the last thing I want to do is screw around with technology. The bike helps me get away from that ...

Oh and by the way ... Every time I turn on the Nav unit, I smell something burning. Maybe my imagination, but Im going to call the dealer tomorrow to setup an appointment. For the reboot problem, I called Honda and they wont set up any "case" until the dealer checks it out. I get a yellow banner with black letters across the top of the display mentioning something to the effect "roads not defined along route" whether the Nav is on or off which usually precedes the reboot ... radio silent for a short time, screen black, radio back on, GoldWing banner, then normal underway display.

·
Premium Member
23,752 Posts
I can sympathize with your irritation and I have an '08 Navi. It sounds like the same complaints attending a different model year. I use mine for entertainment purposes only.

·
Registered
33 Posts
Many don't use it and install a Garmin on the bike to boot , as I will. I have routed mine but it takes time
Bill,

What model Garmin and mount are you using?

·
Registered
1,472 Posts
I love how my Nav works! By the time I get the route entered, w/all the correct "Vias" to go the way I want, I have memorized the route and don't need that way overpriced "road map" turned on!

·
Premium Member