Honda Goldwing Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
154 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
:(

I've posted about this topic before as have others. This 2010 Wing hunts @ idle. RPM goes up and down a couple times when I disengage clutch when coming to a stop or turn then settles to a "normal" idle RPM.

Well it happened yesterday afternoon for the 1st time. Cruising down the road, bike is running fine, put signal on to make a left turn onto a side street, slow down as I approach turn, disengage clutch to down shift a couple gears, RPMs drop, idle bounces up and down a couple times and dash lights come on - engine died! 1st time it has ever stalled. Hit starter as I am turning, fires right up and off I go. Did not stall again during the rest of the 60 mile ride. Luckily there was no one behind me.

Engine was up to temp, tank was 3/4 full of good gas and it was not me that stalled the bike. I've been riding for almost 25 years.

I had a bad feeling this hunting at idle was going to get worse.

2010 Wing, 2200 miles, ECM has been reset twice (no change), no other problems with this bike at all.

Calling the dealer today. Not that I expect they will have an answer but I want this on my record (if they keep track of these things). If it gets worse, stalls more often etc. I don't know what I will do. Based on the posts in this forum it seems Honda has no fix for this?

Rob

·
Premium Member
23,765 Posts
Whoa. That episode would keep one on guard . The steering wobble pales by comparison to an in-flight engine stall.

·
Super Moderator
9,877 Posts
Now that's not good.... I would let the dealer know exactly what happened and how it happened. Perhaps it could help in diagnosing the problem. Hope it does not happen again, but if it does keep going to the dealer with the information. It's got a warranty and Honda should fix the problem. Good luck.. Keep us informed..

·
Registered
2,822 Posts