Honda Goldwing Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
looking to doing some camping without a trailer and was considering a 2 person tent, but it has to be able to fit into trunk or side bags on the wing. Anyone who has tried this would love to hear from you with your recommendations or links. thanks.

·
Premium Member
24,630 Posts
I've got a 2 person dome tent and it would fit on the trunk rack, but is too long (poles only fold up so small) for inside the bags or trunk. I can't even recall the brand at the moment but it's about 20" long and 6" dia; weighs only a couple lbs. About the same size as my Thermarest when it's rolled up.

·
Premium Member
7,508 Posts
I've been using the 2 man Northface Tadpole tents for 20 years but several seasons ago got an REI Half Dome 2 and am extremely pleased with it. I do 4-6 wilderness canoe trips each year and use my gear allot. I like the sitting up elevation of the interior of the Half Dome over the Tad Pole which is shaped like a frog or a wedge. The packed size of the Half Dome specs shows 6x21 vs 6x23 for the Tad Pole. http://www.rei.com/product/845478/rei-half-dome-2-tent

·
Administrator
15,318 Posts
I agree with Dan on REI. They are a good company and sell quality. Any "backpacking" style two person tent will easily fit into a saddle bag on the wing, but check the length of the poles as that is the longest parts.

·
Registered
718 Posts
Are you going two up? I'd be putting it on my luggage rack or strapping it to the passenger pillion. I just did some camping at the district and region rallies this year and we went two up. Barely had enough room for clothes, bedding and shelter, even while pulling my trailer. No cookware or food was taken. We've strapped the folding sack chairs to the luggage rack before with no problems.

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·