Honda Goldwing Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
1998 GL1500 187k on the clock
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
So big cran shakes around 90-115 (top speed thus far 188k I didn’t expect more) in 5th gear not 4th tho. I came over from 09 (180 rear) Harley touring platform cuz they all wobble no matter what kind of money ya spend. tires are new with dyna beads for balancing, I am new to the driveline of these bikes but I can imagine there is a little wear in the components with the miles. would like to Beale to run 100 with out the handlebars feeling like a brookstone massage chair.

O and if anyone from here saw me in Laconia say hi I’m sorry if I blew past ya in the grass with the hazards on I had clutch issues ( not really but that’s what I was gonna say)

·
Registered
1,877 Posts
my 98 SE was glass smooth, other than wind issues moving you a bit, up to 125 mph

I would look the tires over carefully
make sure they ARE smooth
Make sure the seated fully to both sides of the rim all the way around, have had hard times getting them to seat before on my 1500
make sure there is no play in any of the wheel bearings or steering

I road my 1500 10miles at 70mph on cruise with no hands, just to see if it would, so..... yeah they should be smooth and super stable

·
Registered
1,877 Posts
nice looking bike
btw

·
Premium Member
836 Posts
Nice looking 1500 and welcome to the forum. Put the bike on the center stand and raise the front wheel off the ground, check the wheel for any play in the steering head. See if the wheel will move forward and backward and from side to side, this will tell you if the head bearings need replacing or they could just need tightened a bit. This is a very good how to post on the steering head bearings: How to repack and tighten your steering head bearings • GL1500 DIY Articles • goldwingdocs.com

Reactions: Limpy45 and Eric

·
Registered
1998 GL1500 187k on the clock
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·