Honda Goldwing Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
57 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to Goldwings as I bought a 1994 Goldwing GL 1500 Trike Wednesday and it hadn't been ridden much the last few years although it runs just fine. So I decided to start my own maintenance program amd schedule on it and so I had the local Honda Store do an oil change, install a new fuel fitler and install a new battery. Then I said to the service manager that I would also like a new air cleaner put on it and he said that replacing that was a 5 hour labor charge. So my question is how open do you have to replace the air cleaner and wow that seems like a lot of labor to replace an air filter.

I also ordered a new front tire online and have another shop that installs them that will put it on when it comes in next week. I put Sea foam in the gas and plan to for the next few tanks to get the carbs and upper engine cleaned out.

I'm getting use to the ride as it's nothing like my 2003 Honda 1800 VTX Trike.

·
Super Moderator
11,784 Posts
Very nice looking setup!

This is the procedure.

Changing the Air filter in not hard just takes a little time.
1. Remove the seat.
2. remove the two acorn nuts at the back end of the radio, (they were covered by the front of the seat.)
3. Because of some tabs on the side of the radio panel that goes up the side of the fork tube, you have to remove the two fairing pockets.
4. Remove the plastic gussets that are attached to the radio panel where it goes around the fork.
5. Inside the gas filler door on each side there are two plastic levers, put you finger behind the back end and swing the forward. The radio can now be removed. If you don't want to mess with the connectors on the radio. Get one of your wife's best fluffy towel and cover one left side panel and left hang there. There sets the air box.
6. On the front there in a sensor plug disconnect that, and the two clips the hold the front of the box on.