Honda Goldwing Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Help! I've been working on cars, etc extensively for 50 years, and so far this problem has me stumped! After coming around a sweeping exit ramp and climbing a fairly steep hill, my 1500 sputtered then died with no warning. I had a full tank of gas. After 5 mins, it started and ran fine. I replaced the fuel filter. One week later, climbing a gradual hill, it sputtered like it was starved for fuel, but then came back without actually shutting down. Last week, after riding 150 miles with no problems, I came around the SAME exit ramp, climbed the SAME hill, and it died in the EXACT SAME SPOT!!?? This time, gas tank was 1/2 full. Again, waited 5 mins...started and ran fine. I'm trying to figure out if it's the fuel pump, but I don't think so. Each time it acted up, it was cooler weather...early morning or early evening, so I'm thinking perhaps a temp sensor, etc? I have to tell you....several Harleys passed me on the side of the road, and it was embarrassing...usually, it's the other way around! Thanks-any help or suggestions are greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
2,835 Posts
You can test it. here's how
To do the test, go to any tool store & obtain a hand held vaccum guage. I got a brake vaccum tool ($25-$32 aprox. cost). It should have a guage on it that will go higher than 8-psi hg. vac. remove the vaccum line from the petcock assembly. Attach vaccum line from gauage to the petcock vaccum port. Squeeze handle repeatedly as necessary to obtain 7-8 psig hg. vaccum. It should hold vaccum for 3+ minutes. Be sure the vaccum line is tight & no leaks.

If it is good-remove guage vaccum line & reattach vaccum line from carburetor. The petcock assembly is ok!

If not-replace fuel pectcock assembly. OEM price can range from $125-$176

·
Registered
108 Posts