Honda Goldwing Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter #1
Hello to everyone.
My first post of many I'm sure. I had to find a knowledgeable group to ask a few questions, a Google search and BAM I'm here!
I'm going to look at a '88 GL1500 with 40k miles on it on Saturday. The bike looks immaculate and obviously babied, so visually it is a 10. The problem starts there. I've never bought a used bike before, much less one that was built the year I graduated HS! 馃槻馃槻
The gentleman I am buying it from is extremely nice and I'm getting the vibe he is sincerely on the up & up, but I was wondering if there were anything I should especially look for or ask?
Any information or hints would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks & nice to meet you all. 馃幉馃幉

Super Moderator
Hello and welcome to the forum.

There are actually a fair amount of things that need checked. Timing belts and tires being at the top of the list.

Treat it like any other used vehicle purchase as far as general maintenance.

Registered
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks Cantankerous. It has a new front tire and the timing belt was changed in '16 just for precautionary reasons.

Registered
40k miles on a 32 year old bike makes me think that it hasn't been ridden much or it has been local miles only. That old of a bike I'd be thinking about dried out and cracked vaccuum holes and lines too. Check for mouse trails under the carbs (you'll need a good flashlight or borescope to see anything and another place to check would be under the seat.

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk

Administrator
For sure all rubber hoses and seals etc need looking at. There is a bladder (rubber) around the carbs (or close to) that has a real tendency to get brittle and fall to pieces over the years so that needs to be ascertained. Air shock fittings need to be checked for leaks, as well as brake lines and clutch lines and fittings. It is an "old" girl after all and will need some TLC. Good luck

Registered