Honda Goldwing Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Banned
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I am thankful for finding this group as I need resources such as you guys to help me in learning my new bike.
Recently purchased this bike have put about 2000 miles on her all ran fine till three days ago when I began hearing what I think is lifter/valve knocking/rattling. Seems to start once engine is warm and switches from side to side. I am new to Honda and would appreciate any advice you folks are willing to offer me. I do not want to ruin this bike. Comes and goes too as I ride. Thought perhpas at only low RPM but that does not seem to always jive. I am thankful for any advice you may be able to offer.

Thanks in advance, I will be waiting.

Greg

·
Super Moderator
7,607 Posts
With the age of the bike were the timing belts changed?
Only the 1200 and 1500 came with 'Hydraulic Tappets' it may be sticking or worn.

·
Super Moderator
12,270 Posts
Did you do an oil change when you first got the bike? The lifters on my 1200 will start to rattle if I try to extend the oil change past 2,000 miles.

·
Super Moderator
12,270 Posts
Change the oil and the timing belts. Check the stator connector.

·
Super Moderator
15,160 Posts
i get the lifter rattle on my 1200 to but not as much since i started using 20w 50 in hot weather like we are having now

·
Premium Member
7,999 Posts
An odd problem if it's moving around like that. I'd add 4-6oz Seafoam to the crankcase/transmission, run it for 100-500 miles and then do oil change with filter and come back with a good synthetic oil, whether Amsoil or others at spec. If things are sticking that should clear it up; if not, may just be wear as TL said.

·
Super Moderator
12,270 Posts
Did you change the oil filter?

·
Premium Member
7,999 Posts
gld,