Honda Goldwing Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a new goldwing owner and have no idea how to use a forum so please be patient. I bought this bike for $500 dollars and have been working on it for about 2 months. I have had the carbs off 9 times. every time i put them back on, the bike started(of course the carbs leaked), This time I tried to start it and nothing, no clicking sound or nothing, The headlight goes out when I hit the starter button, and I do know to hold the clutch in. It is also in neutral. This last time before I tried to start it I installed rear signals(did not rewire because there were no need) and I installed a front break light switch. I was an automobile mechanic and have owned bikes before so I know a little. Any advise? And thanks

·
Registered
151 Posts
check the starter selenoid located to the left of the battery. its round with 2 post protruding out the top. follow the red battery lead wire to it. while holding the start button depressed an the m/c in neutral try tapping the selenoid to see if is sticking.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
check the starter selenoid located to the left of the battery. its round with 2 post protruding out the top. follow the red battery lead wire to it. while holding the start button depressed an the m/c in neutral try tapping the selenoid to see if is sticking.
I guess I did something stupid, I jumped across the selenoid to check the starter and it turned over fine and then I lost all power to the lights and everything, I hope it is only a fuse, of course I will have to figure that out and start all over again. Thanks for the advice.

·
Registered
11 Posts