Honda Goldwing Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello Everybody, after my last post I've been riding everyday for the last three months and I just got back. Anyway, I think I developed a transmission problem. I put my bike in neutral, let go of the clutch, and then slightly let the bike roll forward a bit, it will jump into gear. The first time this happened it scared the hell out of me because the engine was running and the bike lurched and almost threw me off. Anybody know what can cause that? Is it time for a new clutch?

I've been riding for three months and this just started happening a few days ago and I have no idea were to start troubleshooting. I bought the bike used with 83K miles on it. I've religiously checked the bike before each riding day and all the fluid levels and pressures were normalized before I rode the bike. Any help that can be provided will greatly be appreciated.

·
Registered
217 Posts
That happened on my GL 1100 many years ago...the dealer at that time said the clutch cable need adjustment...he adjusted and it went away...not sure why this would have caused the problem..my guess is that the bike was never really in nuetral even thoght the light said it was...

Good Luck

Safe Ride...

·
Registered
129 Posts
The clutch is there to disengage the motor motion and has nothing to do with transmission transfer of gears but to allow it.

If you make a mistake and not engage the gear, it will be no gear action, period. Then you have to kick it back in to the right spot of "driving gear" but not neutral.