Honda Goldwing Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Premium Member
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to this so please hang in with me. I am about to purchase a goldwing and have it converted to a trike using a CA side car Cobra. The dealer is offering me a brand new (never used) in the crate 2008 Goldwing top of the line airbag equiped. I also can buy a 2010 Goldwing airbag top of the line. Dealer says they are identical. What scares me is that the 08 is going for mega dollars less than the 10. Are there differences that I should be aware of? Help please.
Thank you.

·
Premium Member
23,774 Posts
As far as I have been told the major difference is in the factory GPS and the ((( XM ))) radio. I ride an '08, my closest riding buddy rides an '10. Besides his having ABS the only difference is color. Oops ! The other equipment on the '10 is the Tire Pressure Monitor.

·
Premium Member
127 Posts
I would be real careful in this purchase, I wouldn't do anything without checking with Trapperdick........If he can't tell you no one can....

·
Registered
1,482 Posts
WARNING
Better check w/conversion company before you buy either bike!
There are several that will not approve install of their conversion on ABS models!

·
Registered
174 Posts
I don't know about the trike conversion of a bike with an air bag, you SHOULD check into that. As far as the bikes, I did some checking when I bought my new Wings last Sept. The 10 has the tire pressure warning system, the 08 does not. The 10 has XM radio built into the system, free for one year, the 08 does not. The 10 has a newer version Nav system than the 08. Functionally the Nav systems are about the same (I think). There is one big difference however. The 10 has a different format for the mapping. Last I heard, Honda/Garmin will not be releasing any new/updated mapping for the 08 system. There are several threads about this on the forum.

Other than these things, I believe the bikes are mechanically identical.