Blu Tooth? - Honda Goldwing Forums
 8Likes

post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 08-13-2019, 09:23 AM Thread Starter

Garage
Question Blu Tooth?

I just got a 1988 GL1500 with a nice stereo and cb radio. Wondering if it is worth getting new headsets for the existing setup or get a new Blu Tooth set up. I'm new to this Goldwing stuff, used to just listening to loud exhaust when I ride. Thanks in advance.
fossil92 and Luv2fish like this.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 08-13-2019, 10:10 AM

I am a wired head set guy. I don't want to have to worry about charging a Blu Tooth unit every day when on a multi day trip. I camp most of the time so I do not always have a place to charge it. The Blu Tooth has batteries, they will degrade over time and you will loose run time. A wire system always has power.

If you ride with other people that have them and no CB, then it would be a good switch so you can communicate with them.

With the 1500, you will have to get an adapter that will plug into the radio system. By the time you add everything up, it would be cheaper to get a good quality J&M wired head set. The bike is set up for it already. Mine has great sound and I have been using the same headset for 8 years and 80K miles. Plus. I can switch it between my 1500 and 1800 just by plugging it in. When I stop, I like to take the Helmet off, so the wire does not matter to me.

Blu Tooth units work great for a lot of people. You just have to think about how and how much you are going to use it each ride.

Dan
2012 GL 1800
1988 GL 1500
1977 GL 1000
2012 KLR 650
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 08-13-2019, 10:22 AM
Super Moderator

Garage
My .02.....
@snowmoer is 99.9 % spot on.

I too "was" a wired guy. Did not want to deal with charging, nor will I ever, ever answer my phone while riding but.......

Here's the but.