Rev Matching/"Blipping the throttle" - Honda Goldwing Forums
 3Likes
  • 2 Post By tamathumper
  • 1 Post By budoka

post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 06-20-2019, 04:35 PM Thread Starter

Rev Matching/"Blipping the throttle"

I'm relatively new to riding. During my short riding career, I hear the phrase rev matching or blipping the throttle, particularly while downshifting. I've found several very informative YouTube videos on the subject and I understand the concept. However, every YouTube video I come across are sport bike or crotch rocket riders. Do you cruising or Goldwing bike riders perform "blipping the throttle" while downshifting? If so, describe your method. Or is this just a sport bike thing?

2006 Goldwing 1800 w/Monarch II Trike Kit
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 06-20-2019, 04:52 PM

Garage
Absolutely a bike thing, regardless of type. Especially when approaching a turn or any situation where you want to be in the lower gear specifically for the approaching situation, but locking up the rear wheel would be bad.

"Blip" implies rapid movement then release, but I "ramp" up the throttle moderately and let the clutch out with control at the same time, ready to modulate the clutch in or out to settle into the next gear gracefully without over-revving or locking up the rear wheel. It's a "touch" thing.
NREMTP and dsurley like this.

'03 GL1800A | Porsche 968 | Ford F-150 | Skidoo GSX (2) | Seadoo GTI (2) | Suzuki ATV (2)
A.A.O.N.M.S. | NRA Endowment | Gun Owners of America | Oath Keepers | IDMWT #97
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 06-20-2019, 04:54 PM
Administrator

Garage
I rev match when downshifting my Wing 95 % of the time. Always have and my track experience has re-enforced that habit. With the former 1800 models, the 1500s and earlier Goldwing models, it only serves to make downshifts smoother (less clunky) once the technique is mastered.