Trying to wire a Zumo to '12 GL1800 [Archive] - Honda Goldwing Forums

: Trying to wire a Zumo to '12 GL1800

Beamerho
03-13-2013, 05:03 PM
I'm new at this so please bear with me. I recently purchased a leftover '12 gl1800 with the ABS. I know there are lots of reasons (mostly all good) not to do it but I need and want to hardwire or BT my Garmin Zumo 660 into the existing sound system.

So far, I have tried the J&M CBFR -GL1800. It all connects but there is a very loud buzzing that I cannot eliminate. So , I have the Garmin blutoothed to the J&M and also BT'd to the phone. IT all works as it should except for the loud buzz that is present over all the sound, radio, CB, intercom, phone. It is the loudest on the phone and makes it unusable. J&M at first were helping me out by trying this and that and another, but now have not been responsive.

Second I have tried hardwiring the GPS cradle to the bike using the CM1026 interface supplied by Mr. Goldwing. That seems to work ok, Sound quality is not real good and it affects the radio, music too. but the Garmin works, the phone works as far as dialing and receiving calls thru the Zumo. The drawback is that I am having a lot of difficulty speaking over the phone. The guy on the other end hears nothing or only bits and pieces. Mr Goldwing claims it works great on other bikes and is working with me to resolve the issues. Right now I am trying different settings on the intercom mute to see what affect that has on the mic.

So the question is; Has anyone out there successfully made this connection, if so how?

Thanks
Beamerho is online now Report Post Edit/Delete Message

Chopin
03-13-2013, 05:59 PM
Might try to ask this over here :http://gl1800riders.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?98-2012-Goldwing-Board&.

Dandy Dave
03-13-2013, 06:06 PM