new gold wing owner with tech questions - Honda Goldwing Forums
 6Likes

post #1 of 24 (permalink) Old 04-15-2017, 11:58 AM Thread Starter

new gold wing owner with tech questions

Hello everyone and thank you in advance for your assistance
I have been riding for many years and do all of my own repairs and maintenance. I recently purchased a 2010 Wing and will take possession of it in about a week. I have been doing some research and have heard good things about K&N air cleaner elements and was thinking of installing one during the off season. If anyone has experienced the before and after performance and gas mileage difference I would be very interested in the results. Although it is my first wing it will be my fourth Honda--I always used Castrol oil when doing oil changes but i was told to stick with the factory oil in the goldwing. I was not sure if that was just the dealer trying to sell me oil or if there really was a difference. If anyone has tips or tricks for maintenance I would really appreciate the feedback ( I have already been forewarned about the air cleaner installation ).

also I have heard that when you get really used to the bike it is possible to keep your feet on the pegs when you come to a stop sign or red light--any truth to that or is that just a myth?

Thanks again
Ray
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 24 (permalink) Old 04-15-2017, 12:35 PM
Lifetime Premium

First; Welcome to the GWOF and the Wonderful World of Winging it.
As a 1500 rider I can't help you much with 1800 tech. stuff.
I've been riding wings since 1992 and have never been able to come to a complete stop with out putting a foot down. Nor have any of my wing riding friends. Not saying it Can't be done, Just that the only time I've seen it done is by Drill Teams.

From the Northwest Corner
Ron
The Land of Tall mountains
IDMWT #5
post #3 of 24 (permalink) Old 04-15-2017, 04:11 PM

Garage