Handle bar shaking at speed under 65mph - Honda Goldwing Forums
 8Likes

post #1 of 23 (permalink) Old 01-31-2017, 04:03 PM Thread Starter

Handle bar shaking at speed under 65mph

Hi folks again, now that I have fixed my problem with my cruise control and reverse buttons I found another problem. If I ride under 65mph, put the cruise control on and stop holding the handle bar it starts shaking badly. I also feel like the front suspension is pretty hard and let me feel all the bumps. My BMW LT was not like that. I am new to the Goldwing but I would expect the suspension of the wong to be pretty smooth, at least on par with the beamer. So now I am wondering if the shaking and the tough suspension are not related. Could it be that the front fork oil be low or something?

Alain

2002 GL 1800
BMW 1999 K1200LT - totaled

Vieux motard que jamais

Last edited by alpac; 01-31-2017 at 04:35 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 23 (permalink) Old 01-31-2017, 06:58 PM Thread Starter

Ok i did some research since my last post and it looks like this is a common issue with the Goldwing. Some said to replace the steering head bearings, some say to add a super brace, some others suggest to replace the oil in the fork, etc... I would be interested to know what your experience is with this issue and the fix for it you found one. I am surprised that Honda did not put a steering damper on the Goldwing. May be I wll start with chnagng the tires althiough the front one does not look bad at all. It is pretty noisy though, particularly on curves so may be it is cupped badly enough to create this wobble.
Chopin likes this.

Alain

2002 GL 1800

Vieux motard que jamais
post #3 of 23 (permalink) Old 01-31-2017, 07:12 PM Thread Starter

Just found out that my Goldwing is already equipped with the super brace

Alain

2002 GL 1800

Vieux motard que jamais

post #4 of 23 (permalink) Old 01-31-2017, 08:20 PM