Northeastern US Spring Ride - Honda Goldwing Forums
 11Likes

post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 05-16-2017, 05:47 AM Thread Starter

Northeastern US Spring Ride

Headed out from Fort Drum, NY about 9:00 yesterday. My plan is to visit some of my family in Upstate NY and then head to Vermont, Maine and New Hampshire to knock out some more of my map. If time permits I'll also hit Massachusetts too.

Checked the temperature on my bike when I was north of Harrisville. 42 F with a slight mist. Not great riding weather but better than a downpour. Got to Tupper Lake about 10:30 AM and visited my mother's grave for a while. Tupper Lake is a small town that was a big logging center when I was growing up. My first job was working in the woods when I graduated from high school. Progress has not been kind to this area and the town rely mostly on tourism now.

Headed out to visit my Aunt in Saranac Lake. Had a nice visit with her but had to continue on to Vermont to meet with my brother for dinner. Nice ride along the rural routes in Upstate NY. The weather cleared and sun came out. Stopped at Nancy's Diner in Malone NY for a nice Philly Cheesesteak sandwich. Really hit the spot!

Headed out on Route 11 from Malone to the northernmost reaches of Lake Champlain. The wind was gusting to 35 MPH and the water is really high. Took some photos from the wayside along the bridge.

Headed to St. Albans and got to the hotel about 4:30. Had a nice dinner and played some pool with my brother. Great day of riding, eating and visiting family. Good start for this ride.

Heading out after some breakfast. I am on a very slow Internet connection so only posting a couple of pictures.

If anyone is interested here is my Spot link: http://share.findmespot.com/shared/f...zR5LPSXtyFHlui

Steve
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0742.jpg
Views:	33
Size:	72.3 KB
ID:	224841   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0739.jpg
Views:	34
Size:	83.4 KB
ID:	224849